What’s the Deal With Etsy?

This autumn leading into the holiday season has been a tough one for a lot of Etsy sellers.  In September, Etsy made some huge changes to the website and the algorithms with which listings get found.  So far it’s been an abject disaster for a lot of sellers.

Just speaking from personal experience, this August and the beginning of September were off to a wonderful start.  I was selling more than I ever had before, and was on pace to increase my overall revenue by at least 1/3 if not more.  A week or so into September and the bottom fell right out.  This is when Etsy pushed through their big changes.  I went almost an entire month without a single sale, something that hasn’t happened since I opened my shop.  It’s been scaring timing for all of this to happen right before the holiday season.  It makes me wonder how bad things are going to get.

I’m already toying with the idea that if things don’t pick up it may not be worth my time and effort anymore.  If the new normal is 33% of what I was making off of my shop before (and it wasn’t a large sum, I assure you that) is it worthwhile to keep buying things to stock my shop with?  I’m not really sure anymore.

I’m going to have to do some serious soul-searching this winter.  I already work 40 hours a week, add my Etsy shop to the mix and it’s more like 60 – 70 hours a week.  I love finding great vintage things, but I have no use for a lot of it if I can’t sell it.  There’s probably a lot of other things I could be doing with my time that would be equally rewarding.

I’ll just have to wait and see I guess.

Below you can see my numbers dip after the Etsy changes take place:

Views

Views

Favorites

Favorites

Revenue

Revenue

Pretty frightening really.

One comment

  1. Marc Liss · · Reply

    Yes! Im glad to know its not just me, but extremely frustrated by their changes.

    August was huge for me. My biggest month ever…and then it just crashed in September. I still made sales, but I expected way more. I had seen continued growth over the 4 years Ive been on etsy. Every month was bigger than the same month from the year before, and usually way bigger. Then in September, for the first time in 4 years, my 2014 were lower than my 2013 sales. Then again in October. November, which is routinely my biggest month ever every year, seems to be barely on pace with last year.

    This has been hard for me because we had a bunch of unexpected bills come up in July and August, and with my huge sales in August I elected to pay a bunch of them off at once, expecting sales to continue as they always do. And then September hit, and it still hasnt gone back to normal.

    I hope they are recognizing this issue and rethinking their strategies over at etsy headquarters. I’m not going to get my hopes up though. Money making giants tend not to acknowledge mistakes even when the whole world is screaming at them.

Leave a Reply

